day 26: sunday afternoon at the moma

September 29, 2008

mission:

  • give a stranger a free pair of tickets to the sf moma

this past saturday, i was lucky enough to catch the very tail end of the frida exhibit at the sf moma.  from what i know, the show was sold out, but i was able to get tickets from a limited pool saved for corporate members (a perk i get through my job).

i’ve never taken advantage of this perk – getting into the moma free.  all i was told is that you show your ID badge to get in free with one guest.  this friday i found out that they apparently print you two tickets.  “brilliant!” i thought.  “i can give away free tickets!”

so i made plans to go over to the moma sunday to try and get frida tickets for shak to see frida on closing day.  it took me nearly an hour to find parking in soma.  it was highly frustrating, especially since i had to go home to do work i had piled up.  but alas, i was to be patient because i was trying to do something nice.  was a struggle.

once i finally found a spot, i walked over to the moma membership table only to find that frida was sold out.  i ended up getting two general admission tickets.  i had made an agreement with shak that if i didn’t get her frida tickets for sunday, i’d get her general admission tickets for another day that suited her.

so i went outside to try and figure out who to give my tickets to.  i sort of stood around the perimeter of the building for a few minutes, trying to see who was trying to get into the museum.  there were a lot of people scattered about and i couldn’t really tell one way or another so i decided to approach people in line for tickets.

i caught a french couple at the end of the line: “are you trying to go see frida?” i asked.  they told me they were but it was sold out.  i told them i had general admission tickets if they wanted to see the other exhibits.  i was trying to hand the man the tickets but he hesitated as he didn’t seem to be sure what i was doing.  “wait.  you had extra tickets or something?”  i finally got him to grab the tickets.  “no,” i said.  “i’m trying to do something nice for someone everyday and decided that today i would give someone moma tickets for free.”  “oh, ok,” said the man, still somewhat unsure what i was saying, but happy he was getting free tickets.  the woman at this point went, “oh!” sounding pleasantly surprised.

they thanked me and delightfully made their way out of line and towards the museum doors.

17 Responses to “day 26: sunday afternoon at the moma”

  1. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark
    your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. Products For How to Make Money Online Easily – For Adults

  3. Valium said

    Excellent blog here! Also your web site loads
    up very fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate
    link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as quickly as
    yours lol

  4. Yvette said

    It’s very effortless to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this paragraph at this web site.

  5. Eugenio said

    Superb blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused ..

    Any recommendations? Thanks!

  6. It’s not my first time to visit this website, i am browsing this web page dailly
    and obtain fastidious information from here everyday.

  7. Ernesto said

    When you’re going to rent a comic, think about these tips as a useful guide, pointing in the fitting direction.
    It is an industry norm that you offer a hotel room for the comedian at the same time.
    If it feels weird coming out of your mouth, fake it.

  8. True, there are comedians that cuss a lot, but you got to earn that right before you
    do that. Unfortunately Nora Ephron recently passed away, but she left us with some of our most endearing romantic comedies of all time — from “When Harry Met Sally” to
    “Sleepless in Seattle” and “You’ve got Mail. Well, it can easily be because the audience has been watching her in the TV for the past 6 years, but nevertheless, her FACTS are easy to remember and apply to everyone.

  9. This tree sprouts flowers as well as the smell of these flowers attracts bats.
    When, at last, it can be considered time and energy to open the
    gate and allow them mix, it’s always a celebration of high tension
    for that zoo staff, though for months the animals could possibly have behaved impeccably towards one another.

    The cat was no best places to be viewed, but because
    the caller relayed what he had seen earlier, the bobcat ran through the woods back into the
    busy exit ramp.

  10. The goal the following is to switch Internet time with something positive
    which means that your spouse looks forward to it. In
    fact, video games are supposed to be the greatest entertainment aspects, which not merely develops sharpness but
    in addition carves a character that could easily resolve any intricate true
    to life problem. Their ad, article or text can have up
    allowing them to earn money when someone buys the offered
    product.

  11. Fanny said

    Hello. Just desired to say simply how much I appreciate the information that will be provided below.

  12. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems
    with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  13. Hi! I’ve been following your website for a while now and finally got the courage to
    go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas!

    Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  14. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back from now on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great
    posts, have a nice weekend!

  15. My brother recommended I might like this website. He
    was entirely right. This post ahtually mzde my day. Youu can not imagine just how much time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  16. What’s up, I desire to subscribe for this blog to take hottest updates, so where
    can i do it please help out.

  17. ask said

    Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and
    post is genuinely fruitful for me, keep up
    posting these types of content.

Leave a Reply

